top of page
NTCO Certification - Certified Medical Assistant (NT-CMA)

Medical assistants are allied healthcare professionals responsible for various clinical and/or administrative duties. They perform clinical functions including but not limited to:

  • Direct patient care and preparation 

  • Setting up and performing EKGs

  • Phlebotomy tasks

  • Pharmacology (Assisting Pharmacist)

  • Maintaining patient safety and confidentiality.

  • Medical Administrative duties such as:

    • scheduling appointments

    • maintaining patient records

    • bookkeeping,

    • Medical billing and insurance processing.

Exam Contents - Certified Medical Assistant

The Medical Assistant is a jack of all trades and is often counted upon to perform a myriad of tasks and procedures. You will be tested in the following areas to become NTCO certified:

  1. General Patient Care

  2. Infection, Exposure Control, and Safety

  3. Pharmacology

  4. Phlebotomy

  5. CLIA-waived Point of Care testing

  6. EKG techniques, Recording, Interpretation

  7. EKG Troubleshooting and Maintenance

  8. General Office Procedures

    • ​Communications​​

    • Computer Applications

    • Electronic Medical Records

    • Scheduling

    • General Management

    • Financial Management, Billing, Insurance

    • Law and Ethics

bottom of page